Free, no signup

Read your electric bill, line by line

Every charge rebuilt and traced to the filed tariff, down to the block of eight or nine rider lines most people never read, and the questions the bill cannot answer, named. A ComEd bill is read to the cent today. Any other electric bill is read as far as the reader can take it, and it says so where it cannot.

It must be the PDF from your utility, not a photo or a scan: a picture of a bill has no text in it for us to read. On ComEd.com it is under Billing, then bill history, then download. On a phone, download that same PDF and upload the file.

Read once, never stored, nothing sold. A layout our reader cannot handle is read once by our AI provider and discarded the same way. Privacy notice.

SampleA real ComEd home bill with the numbers changed, not yours. Sixteen charge lines in three sections, each of which has to add up to its own printed subtotal before anything else is claimed.

Residential ComEd bill / Residential - Single

What a bill like yours proves

May 1, 2026 to Jun 2, 2026 (32 days)

16 lines read, 11 recompute to the cent from their own printed rate, 4 checked against filed records (ComEd filed ratebook, ICC posted price to compare).

All 16 charge lines, read, and they add up to $281.06

ChargeQuantityRateAmountFiled
Supply
Electricity Supply ChargePrice to compare1,518 kWh$0.08677$131.72$0.10399 with transmission ICC posting
Transmission Services ChargePrice to compare1,518 kWh$0.01722$26.14$0.10399 with supply ICC posting
Purchased Electricity Adjustment$3.49
Delivery
Customer ChargeDoes not move$15.50$15.39 of $15.50 filed ratebook
Standard Metering ChargeDoes not move$3.87$3.87 filed ratebook
Distribution Facility Charge1,518 kWh$0.06333$96.13$0.06333 filed ratebook
IL Electricity Distribution Charge1,518 kWh$0.00128$1.94$0.00128 filed ratebook
Taxes, fees and credits
Environmental Cost Recovery Adj1,518 kWh$0.00009$0.14
Renewable Portfolio Standard1,518 kWh$0.00516$7.83
Coal to Solar and Energy Storage Fund1,518 kWh$0.00009$0.14
Zero Emission Standard1,518 kWh$0.00087$1.32
Carbon-Free Energy Resource Adj1,518 kWh$-0.01344-$20.40
Energy Efficiency Programs1,518 kWh$0.00369$5.60
Energy Transition Assistance1,518 kWh$0.00084$1.28
Low Income Discount Recovery$1.35
State Tax$5.01
Total$281.06

Every rate here is filed with the Illinois Commerce Commission and is the same for everyone on this rate. Every line on a ComEd bill, explained.

Every line on your bill was extracted and re-added. The computed total matches the Service Period Total ComEd printed, which is how you know nothing was missed or misread.

How, and the source
How
sum of 16 line items = $281.06 = printed total
Source
Your bill, charge details section

What this bill settles

You are on ComEd's Single Family Without Electric Space Heat delivery class

We did not take this from the label on your bill, which does not say whether the home has electric space heat. We rebuilt the Distribution Facilities rate for all four residential delivery classes we hold and found the one whose rate matches the rate printed on your bill. We do not hold ComEd's rules for which class a customer belongs in, so this is the class you are billed on, not a check that it is the right one.

How, and the source
How
printed $0.06333/kWh matches Single Family Without Electric Space Heat in the June 2026 billing period
Source
ComEd filed ratebook, matched to your bill

Price to compare: 10.399 c/kWh; you paid 10.629 c/kWh

ComEd printed a price to compare of 10.399 cents per kWh. Your supply and transmission rates add to 10.399 cents, which is the same number -- consistent with being on ComEd's default supply rather than a retail supplier. What you actually paid for supply was 10.629 cents per kWh, because the price to compare excludes the purchased electricity adjustment and your bill includes it.

How, and the source
How
supply $0.08677 + transmission $0.01722 = 10.399 c/kWh vs printed 10.399 c/kWh
Source
Your bill, supply section and the price-to-compare notice

You have no demand charge, so peak shaving saves you nothing on delivery

Your delivery charges are billed entirely on how much energy you use, not on how fast you use it. Cutting a short spike in your usage would not reduce this bill by a cent. Anyone selling you a residential battery on demand-charge savings in ComEd territory is selling a saving that does not exist on this rate.

How, and the source
How
Distribution Facilities Charge billed per kWh, not per kW
Source
Your bill, delivery section

Also on this bill

Supply $161.35 / Delivery $117.44 / Taxes, fees and credits $2.27

What you paid to buy the electricity, what you paid to have it delivered, and what you paid in taxes, fees and credits. Each section was re-added against its own printed subtotal.

How, and the source
How
Supply: lines sum to $161.35 vs printed $161.35; Delivery: lines sum to $117.44 vs printed $117.44; Taxes, fees and credits: lines sum to $2.27 vs printed $2.27
Source
Your bill, charge details section

The ICC posted 10.399 c/kWh for June 2026, the price your bill printed

The Illinois Commerce Commission posts ComEd's residential price to compare every month, and for June 2026 it posted 10.399 cents per kWh, the same figure your bill printed. That is a check against a source other than the bill itself. Your bill covers May 1, 2026 to June 2, 2026. ComEd's posted price rose from 9.660 (May 2026) to 10.399 (June 2026), and your supply lines were billed at the later figure for the whole period. On your 1,518 kWh the difference between the two postings is $11.22. A year earlier, June 2025's posting was 10.028, so this price is 0.371 cents higher than the same month last year. The ICC also posted the purchased electricity adjustment for June 2026 at 0.230 cents per kWh; the adjustment on your bill works out to 0.230 cents per kWh on the same 1,518 kWh, which agrees.

How, and the source
How
printed 10.399 c/kWh = ICC posting for 2026-06; (10.399 - 9.660) c/kWh x 1,518 kWh = $11.22; PEA $3.49 / 1,518 kWh = 0.230 c/kWh vs posted 0.230
Source
Illinois Commerce Commission, Historical Prices to Compare for ComEd, retrieved 2026-08-31; residential non-space-heat class

All-in rate: 18.52 cents per kWh

Everything on the bill divided by the energy you used. This is the number to use when comparing against anything quoted in cents per kWh.

How, and the source
How
$281.06 / 1,518 kWh = 18.515 c/kWh
Source
Your bill

13 months of usage, from 1,259 to 2,894 kWh a month

Your highest month was August at 2,894 kWh; your lowest was May at 1,259 kWh. That is a 2.3x swing across the year.

How, and the source
How
max 2,894 / min 1,259 = 2.30x
Source
Your bill, the usage graph

What your bill cannot tell you

A monthly statement does not contain the data to answer these.

  1. When did you actually use the electricity?

    Your bill resolves your usage to 13 monthly totals. A month is roughly 2,900 half-hours, and the bill collapses all of them into one number. Nothing on it distinguishes 3am from 3pm.

    Interval data: your usage every 15 or 30 minutes.

  2. What is your peak demand, and when does it happen?

    Residential bills do not measure demand at all. Your meter records it, but nothing on the bill reports it. It is the number that decides whether a battery or a service upgrade is sized correctly.

    Interval data: the maximum interval, with its timestamp.

  3. What does your always-on floor cost you?

    Every building has a base load that never switches off. It is typically the largest single line in an annual energy bill and it is the one nobody ever decided to buy. The bill cannot separate it from everything else, because it never sees your usage at rest.

    Interval data: the overnight trough is the floor, and we already compute it.

  4. Would a different rate have been cheaper?

    ComEd's hourly pricing rate settles against what you used in each hour. Your bill does not record hours, so this is not merely unknown from a bill -- it is unanswerable from one, for anybody, including us.

    Interval data priced against the hourly rate for the same period, hour by hour.

Electricity Bills

The Purchased Electricity Adjustment on a ComEd Bill: 15 Months of Filed Values

The Purchased Electricity Adjustment on a ComEd bill changes every month and is a credit about as often as a charge. Here are the filed values from June 2025 to August 2026, including the 8.166 cent May 2026 outlier.

UPDATED AUG 25 2026

Most of the small lines on a ComEd bill change once or twice a year. The Purchased Electricity Adjustment changes every single month, and roughly four months in ten it is a credit rather than a charge.

Its informational sheet is on its 212th revision. Nothing else in ComEd's book comes close.

What it cost on two real bills

Bill Usage Filed factor Arithmetic Printed
July 2026 billing period 953 kWh 0.247 cents per kWh 953 x $0.00247 = $2.35391 $2.35
June 2026 billing period 1,518 kWh 0.230 cents per kWh 1,518 x $0.00230 = $3.49140 $3.49

Two different months, two different factors. That is the defining feature of this line, and it is why comparing the Purchased Electricity Adjustment between two of your own bills tells you nothing about your usage.

Fifteen months of filed values

Every one of these is a filed value from a stamped ComEd informational filing with the Illinois Commerce Commission. Values in brackets are credits, following the tariff's own notation.

Billing period PEA factor, cents per kWh
June 2025 0.527
July 2025 (0.446)
August 2025 (0.029)
September 2025 0.022
October 2025 (1.469)
November 2025 (1.721)
December 2025 (0.849)
January 2026 0.357
February 2026 0.889
March 2026 (0.151)
April 2026 1.159
May 2026 8.166
June 2026 0.230
July 2026 0.247
August 2026 (0.142)

Six of the fifteen are credits. On a 1,000 kWh bill, November 2025 took $17.21 off the total and May 2026 added $81.66 to it.

The May 2026 value is real

It is not a typographical error and it is worth stating plainly, because anyone who sees 8.166 next to a column of values under 2 will assume a misplaced decimal point.

The figure appears on ComEd's stamped filing for the May 2026 monthly billing period, alongside an Hourly Purchased Electricity Adjustment of 8.032 cents per kWh for the same month. Two different factors, filed together, both around eight cents. A misplaced decimal in one would not reproduce itself in the other.

For one month, the adjustment line on a ComEd Rate BES bill was roughly the size of the entire supply charge.

The filed sheet states the factor. It does not state which term in the equation produced it, and we are not going to guess. What can be said from the tariff is that the equation contains terms capable of producing exactly this shape: an A term for correcting errors in previously applied factors, carrying interest, and an AB Automatic Balancing Factor carrying the cumulative debit or credit balance. Both may be amortised across up to twelve periods, and both may also be applied in one.

One number changes the sign of the whole period. Summing the fifteen filed factors gives 6.790 cents per kWh in net charges. Take May 2026 out and the remaining fourteen months sum to a net credit of 1.376 cents, an average of about 0.1 cents per kilowatt hour back to customers. That arithmetic is ours, done on the filed values above.

What the filed tariff says it is for

Rider PE governs how ComEd buys electricity for customers who take supply from ComEd. The Purchased Electricity Adjustment is the true up between what that supply actually cost and what customers were actually billed.

The filed equation, in words: accrued expenses, less accrued revenues, plus the automatic balancing factor, plus any ordered adjustment, optionally amortised, divided by forecast usage.

  • AE, accrued expenses of procuring power for Rate BES customers.
  • AR, accrued revenues recognised for those customers.
  • AB, the Automatic Balancing Factor, the running debit or credit balance from applying past factors, including interest at the rate the ICC sets under 83 Illinois Administrative Code Section 280.40(g).
  • A, an amount ordered by the ICC or determined by ComEd to correct errors in previously applied factors, also with interest.
  • U, forecast usage.

The line on your bill is settling a month that is already gone

This is the part that is invisible from the bill and that changes how you should read it.

The tariff defines the effective period, the month in which a factor is applied, as the first monthly billing period beginning no earlier than fifteen calendar days after the final reconciliation of the PJM-conducted settlement process for the determination period.

PJM runs the wholesale market. Its settlement for a given month is not final for some weeks. So the Purchased Electricity Adjustment on this month's bill is not this month's cost. It is the settled difference on an earlier month, arriving once the wholesale market has closed its books and a fifteen day clock has run.

That is why the factor bears no relationship to what the weather did while you were using the electricity you are being billed for.

ComEd must file each revised factor with the ICC for informational purposes no later than the twentieth day of the month before it applies, with supporting work papers. The next month's factor is therefore public before the month begins, which is how the August 2026 credit above is already known.

Can it be avoided?

This one, unlike the other lines in this set, yes. With a caveat that matters.

The Purchased Electricity Adjustment applies to kilowatt hours provided to retail customers taking service under Rate BES, ComEd's Basic Electric Service. Rate BES is the default supply you get when you have not chosen a retail electric supplier. The filed note says so directly: the factor is designated on bills as the Purchased Electricity Adjustment pursuant to Rate BES.

If you buy your supply from a retail electric supplier, you are not taking supply under Rate BES and this line is not on your bill.

That makes it genuinely different from the delivery side riders, which follow the kilowatt hours regardless of who sells them to you. It is worth being precise about this, because the usual advice that switching supplier cannot touch your bill's small print is correct for those riders and wrong for this one.

The caveat is the table above. This factor is a credit about as often as it is a charge, and over the fourteen months excluding May 2026 it was a net credit. Leaving Rate BES does not only remove a charge. It removes a two way settlement that has, over most of the recent record, run in the customer's favour. Whether switching supply is a good idea is a question about the supply rate and your load shape, and this line is not the reason to do it either way.

What this page was checked against

Both, and unusually thoroughly. The mechanism is quoted from Rider PE, Sheets No. 324 through 328 of ComEd's filed Schedule of Rates. Every monthly factor in the table is a filed value from a stamped ICC informational filing. Two unrelated bills reconcile to the cent against the June and July 2026 factors.

The one thing on this page that is not filed is the arithmetic on the series, the 6.790 cent sum and the 1.376 cent excluding-May credit. Those are ours, computed from the filed values, and shown so you can redo them.

The other lines on the same bill are covered in every line on a ComEd bill, explained.

What is the Purchased Electricity Adjustment on my ComEd bill?

It is the monthly true up between what ComEd's electricity supply actually cost and what customers taking ComEd supply were billed for it, filed under Rider PE and applied to customers on Rate BES.

Why does it change every month?

Because it settles against the PJM wholesale market, which finalises each month separately. ComEd files a new factor with the ICC by the twentieth of the month before it applies. Informational Sheet No. 3 is on its 212th revision.

Why is my Purchased Electricity Adjustment negative?

Because the factor is a credit in months where ComEd over recovered against actual supply cost. Six of the fifteen filed factors from June 2025 to August 2026 were credits, including every month from October to December 2025.

Was the May 2026 figure of 8.166 cents per kWh a mistake?

No. It appears on the stamped filing for that month alongside an hourly factor of 8.032 cents per kWh. The filed sheet does not state which term of the equation produced it.

Can I avoid the Purchased Electricity Adjustment?

Yes, by taking supply from a retail electric supplier rather than under ComEd's Rate BES. But the factor is a credit roughly as often as it is a charge, so removing it removes a settlement that runs both ways, and it is a poor reason on its own to switch supply.